PLEASE REGISTER TO POST. Also, be sure to visit the main website www.tedgreene.com

**************************************************************************************
Buy NOW on Amazon
My Life with The Chord Chemist
A Memoir of Ted Greene, Apotheosis of Solo Guitar
Available at amazon.com

*Check it out!!!

VISIT OUR NEW SUPPORT PORTAL
Your contributions keep the site healthy and growing

More information HERE

Official Ted Greene Archives Blog

Ted Greene Archives on YouTube

Join Ted on FACEBOOK

NEW! Follow on TWITTER

..:: The Ted Greene Forums ::..

Author   Comment  
KyleK

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi, I am beginning to learn some standards, and attempting to harmonize them in a chord melody style. I would like to be able to play a piece and practice it in various keys so I am trying to analyze chords and give them a roman numeral name so that I can easily transpose. I am no expert on this process though and need some guidance. The Tune I'm about to tackle is Alice in Wonderland(Real book 5th edition) I'll list the chord changes and my beginner analysis. It would be much appreciated to get some help though

Key of C
Section A

D-7|G7|Cmaj7|Fmaj7|B-7b5|E7|
A-7|Eb7|D-7|G7|E-7|A-7|
D-7|G7|(1.E-7 A7|D-7 G7|)(2. Cmaj7|A-7|)

So I know the basics such as D-7 is the iim7, G7 is the V7, Cmaj7 is the IM7 etc., I guess I could say that I understand the diatonic chords but how should I think of E7 and Eb7? Should E7 be thought of as III7 and Eb7 as bIII7? 

The B section also contains mostly diatonic chords but there is also D7, F#-7, B7b9, A7, Ab7, and a D diminished 7 and I'm not sure the best way to think of these. Sorry if this post is poorly written. Also is there a good book on the subject of song analysis that I should get a hold of?

James

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi KyleK,

Song analysis, for the purpose of memorizing a tune to be able to play it in any key, is a big topic.  One that Ted thought a lot about and taught a lot about.